PDA

View Full Version : 12VDC bulbs, switches, and one power supply ?



Crank and Pedal
04-09-2007, 09:32 PM
Hi, I want to wire three lights to three switches to one power supply, all 12VDC (12 Volt Direct Current). I want the lights to be independently controlled, on and off.

click on image to see larger view -
http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p9/avatar_gallery/Crank_and_Pedal/th_Halloween_light_prop_12VDC.jpg (http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p9/avatar_gallery/Crank_and_Pedal/Halloween_light_prop_12VDC.jpg)


Can anyone help me connect the darkened in squares, connection points, so that this can operate? please. :?

Thanks for looking and trying, Crank and Pedal.

Barry
04-10-2007, 06:07 AM
Just wire them in parallel. One positive going through each switch to the light and one negative returning from each light to the supply.

imax
04-10-2007, 08:31 AM
Something like this would work:

http://ian.sitenation.com/Halloween_light_prop_12VDC.jpg

Just make sure your switches are doing what you think they are doing.

Crank and Pedal
04-10-2007, 06:30 PM
Great! Thank you both very much.
Looks simpler (word?) than I thought.
I'll try it.

slash
04-12-2007, 04:25 PM
Just wire all the negatives from the bulbs to the negative on the power supply. Take all the "hot in" from the switches and wire them to the positive on the battery. Then take each pos. from each switch and wire them to the bulbs. If you wire the positive to the power supply and use the neg to switch, the bubls may drain even if their not on.

Crank and Pedal
04-13-2007, 10:37 PM
cool, thanks, Slash.

Scottzilla
04-14-2007, 02:26 AM
If you wire the positive to the power supply and use the neg to switch, the bubls may drain even if their not on.

It shouldn't matter which pole of the battery you wired to the bulbs and which you wire to the switches; when the switches are all open (off) there wouldn't be any return path for the current to flow through and it wouldn't run your battery down.

Jim Warfield
04-14-2007, 02:57 AM
butt r those skinny blue lines on the die-a Gram thick enough to carry the needed voltage?

slash
04-15-2007, 09:33 AM
butt r those skinny blue lines on the die-a Gram thick enough to carry the needed voltage?

:D