PDA

View Full Version : Maximum Throughput for a Haunted Walking Trail

mrfoos
03-17-2012, 03:57 PM
Hello all,

I'm working on a business plan / estimate for a farm that already has a corn maze and small festival entertainment attractions. They want to add a haunted trail to increase sales they receive per customer. The trail would be made through light forest and part of the corn field. The owner says on a good Friday and Saturday night in October he gets 1200 visitors to the corn maze. His question is, "what is the max number of people we could put through a haunted trail in a three hour period?" His hope is that with new advertising AND the additional haunted trail he will lure in more customers... which is reasonable since we are close to a large university.

So being a good pretend scientist, I started making up some numbers.

Let's say we put 10 people per group (lead by a tour guide), and run a new group per minute into the attraction. That's 600 people per hour.
10 people * 1 per minute * 60 minutes = 600 people / hour

Now looking at the actors on the trail... is having a new group once every 60 seconds reasonable? We broke their time down into three actions:
Action 1. waiting in position / posing / acting a scene
Action 2. scaring / chasing / urging customers forward to the next scene
Action 3. resetting back to original position / resting / breathing / waiting for next group

So 60 seconds per group only gives the actors 20 seconds per action. (They will probably hate me, right?)

Then there are other factors that will stop or slow down the throughput:
Example 1: Actor rotation.
Example 2: Technical downtime like power outages, music problems, accidental dismemberment of limbs
Example 3: Customers are too scared and want to go back out (so we have to kill them)
Example 4: Stuff I can't even think of.