PDA

View Full Version : Forced perspective in a haunt

Mortax
12-27-2007, 05:08 AM
Greetings,

Hello all! I'm working on the design for next years haunt, and I have a bit of a problem. We have very limited indoor space for what I want to do, so I need to use some tricks. :-)

I'm doing an area that is supposed to feel like you are in a series of underground caverns. Since the area is small, I want to have rock corridors that the patrons walk through with large fissure like windows for them to look out as they walk. In these niches, I want to have models and miniatures to create the feeling that a very large space is just beond the wall. This gives me lots of opportunities to make a creepy atmosphere, as well as distractions.

To do this, I wanted to use Forced perspective to create these scenes. I've never used this technique before, so I was wondering if any of you had.

Are there any specific formula's I should use for the miniatures? Lighting considerations?

Thanks in advance!
Jeremy

Smiley
12-27-2007, 08:26 AM
One idea I'd like to throw in, to make the place seem larger than it is, is to create a bottomless pit (http://www.halloweenpropmaster.com/Wormyt/Bottomless_Pit/pit_plexiglas.html) and apply it to the wall. Just something to think about.

One way to create light in a very confined spot is to stick in a Light Emitting Diode (LED). LEDs are already a sort of miniature light. So you could pass them off as mini industrial lighting perhaps? You can also use audio. A speaker next to or in a niche that spews echoing screams would make people take notice.

Mortax
12-27-2007, 12:35 PM
Thanks for the advice. :-) If I use the pit (assuming I can get enough mirrors), I'll have to use some kind of flickerbulb or something. Our storyline is 1890 in the eastern US.

Mortax
12-27-2007, 12:44 PM
Never mind, just habit. We were using 1860's until last year. We moved forward to incorperate Jack the Ripper into storyline. They had electric lights in 1890.