PDA

View Full Version : grounding power



Darkangel
04-14-2008, 11:17 AM
For those of you who do outdoor trails, hayrides or shows, did you guys get your power grounded? I am looking for info on the process, cost, and info on grounding power from the electri company rather than using generator power?


Thank you,
Darkangel

spookologist
04-14-2008, 12:42 PM
Darkangel.....

We have a electrician come in each year and run the large Carnival type cords throughout our trail. They MUST be plugged into a GFI (Ground Fault Interrupter). Our electrical inspector requires us to cover any cords that crosses a path where people walk with rubber mats. We scored a bunch of rubber conveyor belts from a local business so we use them.
As far as lighting goes, we use low voltage. Works out well.

Good luck.

Wayne
www.trailofterror.com

Darkangel
04-15-2008, 02:27 PM
Thanks Wayne. I'm a bit confused, if you had the power grounded wouldn't you only have to do that once and just run cords from your powerbox? I thought grounding was a one time thing....I know for temporary events you have grounded rod, but I'm talking about having the electric company come in to permanently ground yor power....


Darkangel

MDKing
04-15-2008, 04:50 PM
Yeah, that's a good question. You have to do that every year Wayne?

Thanks,
Allan

roland s
04-15-2008, 09:06 PM
for a permanent power supply i think they would install a meter and your main panel would be close. At the main panel is where u would drive a ground rod. Depending on local codes thats pretty much it. If u have subpanels in outbuildings that will change things but not much. Then you could keep it there forever and not change it . cost is hard to estimate because each place is different.

Jim Warfield
04-16-2008, 03:19 AM
Our new power company requires two ground rods pounded into the ground 5? feet apart, and of course the copper ground wires must not be in any sort of conduit because lightning likes to swirl around on it's way down and a pipe around it would maybe make it seek another path, one where you would not want it to go, like through electrical appliances and thing$.

MDKing
04-16-2008, 03:36 PM
Hey Roland, have you seen any costs to estimate even if it's your area?

Thanks,
Allan

spookologist
04-16-2008, 06:09 PM
Sorry for the confusion. Yes, we have our outdoor panel and just below the panel we have covered GFI plugs, then we run the "carnival cords" out to each scene. So it is permanently grounded. The electrician inspects everything each year to make sure everything this is working and covered properly. And, of course, adds to whatever we need.
Hope this clears up any confusion.

Wayne

MDKing
04-16-2008, 06:46 PM
Thanks Wayne, that makes sense...

Any idea on approx. cost of having this done?

Allan

roland s
04-16-2008, 07:27 PM
i have no idea of cost you might have to research a little and see if its cheaper to treanch the cables to your location or if it would be cheaper to go overhead