PDA

View Full Version : Voice Changer (PRO)



PhantomSW
06-25-2008, 07:52 PM
Last time I check on a "GOOD" voice Changer it was $1500..

Did anyone break the sub $500 yet?

Phantom@ScreamWorks.org

Jim Warfield
06-30-2008, 07:14 PM
Helium has to be cheaper.

jimmyfish
07-09-2008, 12:07 AM
try a guitar pedal effects box. I use a vocal 300 from Digitech, I think you can get one for around $300. Plug a mic into it and run the output to an amp and speakers. It can do low monster voices to chipmunks and everything in between and is pretty clear.

thehauntedhall
10-24-2008, 03:26 PM
i bought a digitech one for $190 that i use in my haunt

monsterwax
11-03-2008, 01:09 AM
We used one of those cheap-o $12 voice changers that are never loud enough, and added two adapters to it. One to make it run off of AC, and another to provide a RCA output to connect to a cheap stereo input (the CD input works well). The stereo is usually a used Goodwill job for another $35, plus used speakers. It worked fine then, although it was not wireless, and we had to conceal the power cord and RCA cord down the shirt of the user. (They were not mobile so that wasn't a problem.)

bhays
11-03-2008, 11:00 PM
We used one of those cheap-o $12 voice changers that are never loud enough, and added two adapters to it. One to make it run off of AC, and another to provide a RCA output to connect to a cheap stereo input (the CD input works well). The stereo is usually a used Goodwill job for another $35, plus used speakers. It worked fine then, although it was not wireless, and we had to conceal the power cord and RCA cord down the shirt of the user. (They were not mobile so that wasn't a problem.)

Did you have to use any electronics to convert from the speaker in the changer to line level for the rca or did you simply clip off the speaker and then solder on an rca connector?

monsterwax
11-12-2008, 08:36 PM
It was three years ago when we converted it, so I can't be positive without finding the unit and opening it, but I don't remember buying any new electronics. Those cheap-o voice changers are so weak, just sending it to RCA and letting the AC amp do the work was what I remember. The only new part I recall was the adapter to convert the 9 volt battery source to AC power as well, although that isn't really necessary if you're willing to keep a supply of 9 volt batteries around to power the voice changer (not the amp). I hate fussing with batteries though coz people always seem to leave them on all night long and they are dead the next day when you come in to fire everything up.