PDA

View Full Version : Air Compressor?



creep house
09-16-2008, 11:25 AM
I need a little help ,
I have a Scarefactory Impaler and i need a good air compressor...
do i need one with good hp. or cfm or large tank ?
please help...................thanks

creep house
09-17-2008, 01:40 PM
can`t anyone help????

Thanks

gadget-evilusions
09-18-2008, 09:07 AM
CFM is the most important thing. That's how much air your compressor can produce.

A few things to remember.

Oil lubricated runs quieter and will last longer that oilless.

A two stage compressor will reach 175 psi while most single stage will only go up to 125 or 150. The higher the pressure in the tank, the more air you have available to run your animations. A smaller tank with higher pressure can sometimes hold more air than a larger tank with lower pressurs. There is a calculator on my website for figuring out how much air is stored in your tank at a specific psi.

Make sure your compressor is rated for 100% duty cycle, that means its ok to always run. If your compressor only has a 50% duty cycle, it can only run, for example for 5 minutes, and then needs to take a 5 minute break, or it could break.

Calculate out how much air all your props will consume if they are all running at once and how often they will be firing, and buy a compressor that more than handles the amount of air they all need.

creep house
09-18-2008, 01:00 PM
THANKS.......Gadget