PDA

View Full Version : Phone Info Line! What do you guys use? Heres what I use..



lerandell
08-13-2009, 07:02 PM
Just curious what you guys do for having an info phone line for your haunt. and how much does it cost you? I figured I would share what I have done. It is super professional sounding and cost next to nothing compared to most other options.
I use VoIP. First I want to say this is not your regular Vonage or Skype stuff. I have a high speed internet line, an old PC (1GHz), a few pieces of software (free), and an account with a VoIP provider. (I use link2voip.com).
it cost me $2.49 per month plus 1.1/minute. Unlimited inbound channels. Plus my internet connection. you guys can call it to see what you think. 214-615-8592. there are menu options that give dates, directions, prices or "press 4 to speak with one of out ghosts"

Trixbox is the name of the phone or IP-PBX software I use. You can buy a real physical phone like I do to connect to it through your network or just use whats called a soft phone on a PC. It really is very easy to setup.
Here is a youtube video that walks you through basic setup steps.
I know this is just basic info but if there is more interest I may write up a how-to.

ILrp8cm1pec

The phone I use has a network connection on it. It is a Polycom SoundPoint IP 500. or you can use a softphone like Xlite - http://www.counterpath.net/x-lite.html&active=4

freak 'n' stein
08-13-2009, 09:49 PM
surely there is a simpler way of doing this?

I just called...GREAT system though!!!! Who did your "Ghost Host" Voice Over?

lerandell
08-13-2009, 10:04 PM
Im sure there is. but I bet it would be hard to find it this cheap. I very well could be wrong though. Thats the main reason I wanted to see what everyone else was doing.
I know a lot of us haunters are the do it yourself kind to save a few bucks.

someone else on here posted about google coming out with some kind of voice phone service. but its not out yet.

lerandell
08-13-2009, 10:09 PM
surely there is a simpler way of doing this?

I just called...GREAT system though!!!! Who did your "Ghost Host" Voice Over?

LOL.. Thanks! thats actually me doing the voice. I thought it sucked.. :) I sound like the crypt keeper..
I ended up coming up with that higher pitched voice because it comes through better on a cell phone. When I did a lower creepy voice you couldn't understand it. we get most of our call while we are actually open and people are wanting to know if we are open and to get directions. We are way out in the boonies where its creepy.. pressing 4 actually does a group ring and anyone from the ticket booth to inside the haunt can answer the call.

Brandon_K
08-26-2009, 09:03 PM
I would kill to be able to do VoIP, something like Asterix, but alas we're off the beaten path. The best I can get (which we have) is 1500/384 ADSL. We had 768k SDSL, but had connectivity issues due to the distance from the CO. If memory serves, we're 25k feet. We simply don't have the bandwidth available to handle multichannel VoIP :(

I contacted the local cable company (Comcrap) 3 or 4 years ago. The mile of build out that would have been required was something like 5 grand. We only got lit up in the local area about two year ago with FIOS and same deal, no dice on a build out. We're located within the confines of a county park, no residential. We're lucky to have POTS copper to the building I guess.

lerandell
08-26-2009, 09:19 PM
you guys dont have any fixed wireless in the area? That is actually what I am on. http://skybeam.com/
I get really strong speeds because we are about 3 miles from the water tower where the backbone node is. I know these speed wouldnt hold up to huge amounts of traffic like 30 callers at once, but we will up grade the speeds later if we start maxing it out.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/444231078.png

Brandon_K
08-26-2009, 10:25 PM
Negative. We don't have jack for high speed wireless in Pittsburgh, short of Rev A EVDO via Sprint or Verizon. I can hope and pray Sprint goes live with 4G by next season :)

My house is only 4500 feet line of sight from the haunt, but unfortunately this is Pittsburgh and as such, we have huge terrain variances. I would have to erect a tower at minimum 60 feet tall, thought I would be willing to bet taller to get over the small mountain that's between us if I wanted to do a point-to-point connection to my house, which would be absolutely sweet, then I could take advantage of FIOS. Maybe I'll find out who owns the new, massive flag pole they just put up a few hundred feet from my house. A pair of panels on that and I'm set ;)

Hundred Acres Manor
08-29-2009, 06:15 PM
Hey LP-1! As long as you will take care of recording the voice message I am down for whatever! Gawd I hated recording that lol. See yah tomorrow bro! Best of luck with getting a new phone solution for our haunt!

Jim Warfield
08-30-2009, 07:23 AM
Putting a new message on my answering machine every day, but then I'm open every night & Sat. & Sun. afternoons.
Customers sometimes complain, message is too long, but if I leave something out they complain too!
The idiot level of some customers circumvent and usefullness of any message concerning anything though. Money spent on technology will not help this. hahahaha!
Little, bitty Mount Carroll, Ill. has had high-speed dsl for 9? years! This helped my Wife decide to be here, they didn't have dsl in the Chicago burb she's from!
Several map services still keep telling people we are located 4 blocks south of here, which sends them down a "Cow Path" on a side hill..makes their quest "interesting".
Many eons ago when The Chicago Tribune first gave me "ink" I wore out an answering machine in one weekend! The phone didnot stop ringing for three days!