HauntWorld Home - Forums Home - Live Chat - Find Haunted Houses - Hauntworld Magazine - Haunted House Supplies - America's Best Haunts - Find Vendors
Haunted House News - Haunted Tradeshows - Join Hauntworld Facebook - Hauntworld Twitter - Advertise - Contact Us

Thread: Help With Creating a Relay!

Results 1 to 10 of 12

Hybrid View

  1. Question Help With Creating a Relay! 
    #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Glastonbury, CT
    Posts
    25
    So I purchased a PicoStorm (http://www.frightprops.com/FrightPro...ct.asp?ID=0796) and it can only power (2) 500 watt lights......that's not enough light! I was thinking more along the lines of theater lights, and the only thing i can think of is creating a relay that would plug into the lightning box then also plug into a 20 amp outlet (if using a theater light) allowing the box to work normally but with a more powerful light. I drew a diagram, as seen below. I'm not that high tech and would really appreciate it if someone could send me a link to the relay i would need and I believe that would be all is just a relay and solder or screw (terminals) the wires of some cut-up extension cords to it. Help would be great appreciated.
    Attached Images
     

  2. Default No dice 
    #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Oxford, CT
    Posts
    75
    Unfortunately that won't work. If you were using a purely digital device, just off and on, then a relay would work fine. But your dealing with an analog device that varies the output to produce a dimming & brightening effect, not just off and on. A circuit could be built using a triac or similar components but I think you'd be getting in over your head. Two 500watt lights are pretty impressive as is. That alone will pull over 8 amps. I suggest trying out what you have and see if you like it.
    Scott Ames
     

  3. Default If 1000 watts isn't enough 
    #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Oxford, CT
    Posts
    75
    Keep in mind Fright Props also carries the i-Zombie line. You can get up to 2400watts with those. Also lights-alive firefly goes up to 3000 watts.
    Scott Ames
     

  4. Default  
    #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Glastonbury, CT
    Posts
    25
    You know I totally forget it does dim so a relay would be useless, as for firefly I am now interested and researching that. Thanks for the feedback!
     

  5. Default  
    #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    56
    We're happy to talk, and answer any questions. Demo videos are also on our web site and YouTube.

    Steve
    Lights Alive
    www.lights-alive.com
     

  6. Default  
    #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Glastonbury, CT
    Posts
    25
    Yah Steve, I'm pretty interested. I sent you a pm.
     

Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •