HauntWorld Home - Forums Home - Live Chat - Find Haunted Houses - Hauntworld Magazine - Haunted House Supplies - America's Best Haunts - Find Vendors
Haunted House News - Haunted Tradeshows - Join Hauntworld Facebook - Hauntworld Twitter - Advertise - Contact Us

Thread: Power Question..

Results 1 to 10 of 16

Hybrid View

  1. Default Power Question.. 
    #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    156
    If you are setting up in a parking lot, or a plot of land that hasn't been built on (like where a fireworks tent would be) what do you do for power?

    Is there a way for the power company to hook up a temporary power source, or would you need to run generators?

    Also, those of you with outdoor haunts, what do YOU do for power?

    Thanks.
     

  2. Default  
    #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    540
    I've seen small haunts in parking lots be solely off of generators, but they were smart in using only 2 fog machines and almost all LED lighting. Almost no pneumatics except for ankle ticklers and one face blaster. But the haunt was still very fun.


    About the temporary power, I would have to say at least around here, I doubt they'd do something like that, but you never know until you call and ask.


    Dewayne
     

  3. Default Generators 
    #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    389
    Generators, or at least one large generator. When we do outside concerts we typically get a generator on wheels that will power an entire show, but these get expensive and you probably don't need that much power. If you use LED lights you should be able to do quite a bit with a 5Kw generator.
    Travis "Big T" Russell
    President
    Big T Productions Inc

    Owner and Operator of "The Plague" and "Camp Nightmare"

    Customer Quote of the year: "Damn, I pissed myself"
     

  4. Default  
    #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    156
    Ok that's what I was thinking. Thanks guys.

    Frightener, that's funny because that's almost exactly what im drawing up! As for the lighting, im wanting to do the whole thing in 12dc landscape lights (credit Brother M for that one) and possibly a couple standard power strobes.
     

  5. Default temp power pole 
    #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Prattville Alabama
    Posts
    133
    Most power companies will hookup to a temporary power pole but it is generally up to you as the customer to provide the pole and everything after the meter base. (some will sell you their meter base or tell you what brand and type they require) I'd call and ask about it. Other than paying someone to put together the temp pole, the cost has to be cheaper than gas for the month you'll be open. Wiegh your options before you commit to building everything AC or DC. Just a thought...
     

  6. Default 12 volt landscape lights!"GGRR!" 
    #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Ravens Grin Inn, 411 carroll st.mount carroll ill.
    Posts
    12,813
    I have rebuilt, repaired those dam things so many times and right now half of them look like crap, don't work. I have used screws to hold them together, this helped some. My problem , I think, are Raccoon/vandals.
    My newest 12 volt lights use the old socket now inside a metal hex electrical box with a thick plexiglass lense over the open end, all screwed to the metal walls, using steel conduit to run between the lights. I estimate a very large Raccoon could hang on this system without it falling of the wall or disturbing my lighting.
    So There! Nah!"
     

  7. Default  
    #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    613
    Quote Originally Posted by BigT View Post
    If you use LED lights you should be able to do quite a bit with a 5Kw generator.
    Okay, so, let's assume that that's what we want to do. What does that entail? How much would it be, what would be fuel costs, and how would we go about it logistically?

    Quote Originally Posted by scottylmt View Post
    As for the lighting, im wanting to do the whole thing in 12dc landscape lights (credit Brother M for that one) and possibly a couple standard power strobes.


    Quote Originally Posted by rfsystems View Post
    Most power companies will hookup to a temporary power pole but it is generally up to you as the customer to provide the pole and everything after the meter base. (some will sell you their meter base or tell you what brand and type they require) I'd call and ask about it. Other than paying someone to put together the temp pole, the cost has to be cheaper than gas for the month you'll be open. Wiegh your options before you commit to building everything AC or DC. Just a thought...
    And as with the generator option above, same questions.

    C.
     

Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •